A K-8 Blue Ribbon School in Vienna, VA

Be who you are and be that well

Welcome to Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic School which has a long standing reputation for academic excellence and a caring environment which facilitates learning and spiritual, social, emotional and physical growth.

4th Grade

Room 7: Ms. Jones Bio
Room 8: Mrs. Yassa Bio
Instructional Asst.: Mrs. Magill Bio

Curriculum Highlights:

  • Fourth Graders love being the "big kids" in the hallway and have the wonderful job of setting a good example for the younger children.
  • Social Studies
    • To help put their social studies knowledge to good use, the students become Indians and write diaries of what a day was like in the life of these young braves and squaws!
    • Students learn about Virginia patriots and their contributions to Virginia history, Virginia's role in the global economy and Virginia government.
  • Language Arts
  • Reading includes continued development and maintenance reading skills and exposure to a variety of literary genres.
  • English supports students in reviewing and maintaining proper grammatical usage as well as providing a variety of opportunities to express themselves through writing for a variety of purposes.
  • Religion
  • Students will prepare and lead two school masses per year
  • During Lent students will act out the Stations of the Cross for the school community.
  • Students learn to appreciate and put into daily practice traditional prayers of our Catholic Faith.
  • Major topics presented to the students include: Profession of Faith, Liturgy and Sacraments, Commandments and Beatitudes.
  • Special Events and Field Trips
    • Colonial Day
    • Jamestown and Yorktown Field Trips
    • Blandy Farm
  • Science
  • Units of study include: Weather, Ecosystems of the Oceans, Electricity and Magnetism, Our Solar System, Plant Anatomy and deeper study into Body Systems

OLGC School Summer Reading Lists:

Students who will be in grades 4 through 8 during the 2018-2019 school year have summer reading assignments. Please click here to visit the OLGC Library website for a link to the Rising 5th Grade Summer Reading Lists.

Classroom News & Info:

4th Grade Newsletters

Room 7

Room 8

4th Grade Calendar

October 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Sep 29
Mon, Sep 30
Tue, Oct 1
Wed, Oct 2
Thu, Oct 3
Fri, Oct 4
Sat, Oct 5
Sun, Oct 6
Mon, Oct 7
Tue, Oct 8
Wed, Oct 9
Thu, Oct 10
Fri, Oct 11
Sat, Oct 12
Sun, Oct 13
Mon, Oct 14
Tue, Oct 15
Wed, Oct 16
Thu, Oct 17
Fri, Oct 18
Sat, Oct 19
Sun, Oct 20
Mon, Oct 21
Tue, Oct 22
Wed, Oct 23
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
Sat, Oct 26
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2

Resource

There are no resources or collections to display

Website Links and Resources:

Social Studies - Harcourt Horizons Virginia
Religion - Christ Our Life
Science - 
Literature - Pearson Success Net
Math- Sadlier
Classic Typing - Practice keyboarding (WITHOUT looking down) 5-10 minutes every week on Classic Typing in the Courses section.

4th Grade Monthly View

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Sep 29
Tue, Oct 1
7 Reading - finish vocab sentences

Click for words and definitions.

7 Reading - Reading log (due Friday)

Please remember to sign each night! Students must respond to their writing.

Thu, Oct 3
7 Reading - Reading log (due Friday)

Please remember to sign each night! Students must respond to their writing.

Molnar Math 4

PLEASE RETURN PARENT-SIGNED FOLDERS. This is my way of being able to share your student's math progress with you and I am missing a couple of them.

Thank you. :)

Sat, Oct 5
Sun, Oct 20
Tue, Oct 22
Rm 8 Spelling TEST

Spelling Test on Unit 7 words

Wed, Oct 23
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
Sat, Oct 26
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
K-Gr 5 Halloween Parade
-
School Front Parking Lot
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2