A K-8 Blue Ribbon School in Vienna, VA

Be who you are and be that well

Welcome to Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic School which has a long standing reputation for academic excellence and a caring environment which facilitates learning and spiritual, social, emotional and physical growth.

4th Grade

Room 7: Ms. Jones Bio
Room 8: Mrs. Chan Bio
Instructional Asst.: Mrs. Magill Bio

Curriculum Highlights:

  • Fourth Graders love being the "big kids" in the hallway and have the wonderful job of setting a good example for the younger children.
  • Social Studies
    • To help put their social studies knowledge to good use, the students become Indians and write diaries of what a day was like in the life of these young braves and squaws!
    • Students learn about Virginia patriots and their contributions to Virginia history, Virginia's role in the global economy and Virginia government.
  • Language Arts
  • Reading includes continued development and maintenance reading skills and exposure to a variety of literary genres.
  • English supports students in reviewing and maintaining proper grammatical usage as well as providing a variety of opportunities to express themselves through writing for a variety of purposes.
  • Religion
  • Students will prepare and lead two school masses per year
  • During Lent students will act out the Stations of the Cross for the school community.
  • Students learn to appreciate and put into daily practice traditional prayers of our Catholic Faith.
  • Major topics presented to the students include: Profession of Faith, Liturgy and Sacraments, Commandments and Beatitudes.
  • Special Events and Field Trips
    • Colonial Day
    • Jamestown and Yorktown Field Trips
    • Blandy Farm
  • Science
  • Units of study include: Weather, Ecosystems of the Oceans, Electricity and Magnetism, Our Solar System, Plant Anatomy and deeper study into Body Systems

OLGC School Summer Reading Lists:

Students who will be in grades 4 through 8 during the 2018-2019 school year have summer reading assignments. Please click here to visit the OLGC Library website for a link to the Rising 5th Grade Summer Reading Lists.

Classroom News & Info:

Website Links and Resources:

Social Studies - Harcourt Horizons Virginia
Religion - Christ Our Life
Science - 
Literature - Pearson Success Net
Math- Sadlier
Classic Typing - Practice keyboarding (WITHOUT looking down) 5-10 minutes every week on Classic Typing in the Courses section.

4th Grade Calendar

March 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Mar 1
Mon, Mar 2
Tue, Mar 3
Wed, Mar 4
Thu, Mar 5
Fri, Mar 6
Sat, Mar 7
Sun, Mar 8
Mon, Mar 9
Tue, Mar 10
Wed, Mar 11
Thu, Mar 12
Fri, Mar 13
Sat, Mar 14
Sun, Mar 15
Mon, Mar 16
Tue, Mar 17
Wed, Mar 18
Thu, Mar 19
Fri, Mar 20
Sat, Mar 21
Sun, Mar 22
Mon, Mar 23
Tue, Mar 24
Wed, Mar 25
Thu, Mar 26
Fri, Mar 27
Sat, Mar 28
Sun, Mar 29
Mon, Mar 30
Tue, Mar 31
Wed, Apr 1
Thu, Apr 2
Fri, Apr 3
Sat, Apr 4

4th Grade Monthly View

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Mar 1
Mon, Mar 2
Thu, Mar 5
Fri, Mar 6
Jewett Math 4

Workbook page 91 and 92 due by Monday

Stations of the Cross led by Rm 8
-
Church
Sat, Mar 7
Sun, Mar 8
Mon, Mar 9
Wed, Mar 11
Thu, Mar 12
Fri, Mar 13
Sat, Mar 14
Sun, Mar 15
Mon, Mar 16
Tue, Mar 17
Wed, Mar 18
Thu, Mar 19
School Confessions CANCELLED
-
Church
Fri, Mar 20
Sat, Mar 21
Sun, Mar 22
Mon, Mar 23
Tue, Mar 24
Wed, Mar 25
Thu, Mar 26
Fri, Mar 27
Sat, Mar 28
Sun, Mar 29
Mon, Mar 30
Tue, Mar 31
Wed, Apr 1
School Mass led by Rm 8 CANCELLED
-
Church
Thu, Apr 2
Fri, Apr 3
Sat, Apr 4