3rd Grade

Teachers:

Rm 5 - Miss Gorges Bio
Rm 6 - Mrs. Kahng Bio

Instructional Asst:
Mr. Rosenberg
 Bio
Mrs. Esther Bashir Bio

I like OLGC because it teaches me about God. I also like that I can make a lot of new friends. I also like that everyone is nice and everyone is loving. - 3rd grade student

Curriculum Highlights:

Welcome to 3rd Grade!

While studying simple machines, each student creates a compound machine using at least two simple machines. Creations have consisted of cereal dispensers, catapults, and machines that moved objects and cars using pulleys and inclined planes. The children enjoy sharing their creations with their peers.

The students then visit Colvin Run Mill to see simple machines in real action. They watch simple machines at work in the barn and learned how farmers got their products to the general store.

For All Saints' Day, each 3rd grader chooses a saint to research. The children write a report to present to their classmates and they wear a costume to represent their saint and wear it for our All Saints' Day Mass. 

In social studies the children grow in their map skills by reading and analyzing various types of maps. We learn the states and the capitals of the United States region by region as the children also are assigned a state to research. State Fair Day is the culmination of learning about the United States. The children learn about one state and help the school learn about it as well, by decorating a tri-fold board, a diorama, and more! The children enjoy sharing their studies with the school. 

In mathematics the third graders focus on learning their multiplication and division facts. Fractions are also a highlight of 3rd grade math curriculum.

The children enjoy growing in their reading skills through small group rotations and in-class book clubs.  3rd grade is also the year the children begin writing more intensely in cursive. 

Resources

3rd Grade Calendar

There are no events to display
May 2022
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Mon, May 9
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Mon, May 16
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Mon, May 23
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4

3rd Grade Monthly View

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 1
Mon, May 2
Tue, May 3
Wed, May 4
Thu, May 5
Fri, May 6
Sat, May 7
Sun, May 8
Tue, May 10
Wed, May 11
Thu, May 12
Fri, May 13
Sat, May 14
Sun, May 15
Tue, May 17
Wed, May 18
Thu, May 19
Fri, May 20
Sat, May 21
Sun, May 22
Tue, May 24
Wed, May 25
Thu, May 26
Fri, May 27
Sat, May 28
Sun, May 29
Mon, May 30
Tue, May 31
Wed, Jun 1
Thu, Jun 2
Fri, Jun 3
Sat, Jun 4