3rd Grade

Teachers:

Room 5:
Room 6: Miss Pearson Bio

Curriculum Highlights:

Welcome to 3rd Grade!

While studying simple machines, each student creates a compound machine using at least two simple machines. Creations have consisted of cereal dispensers, catapults, and machines that moved objects and cars using pulleys and inclined planes. The children enjoy sharing their creations with their peers.

The students then visit Colvin Run Mill to see simple machines in real action. They watch simple machines at work in the barn and learned how farmers got their products to the general store.

For All Saints' Day, each 3rd grader chooses a saint to research. The children write a report to present to their classmates and they wear a costume to represent their saint and wear it for our All Saints' Day Mass. 

In social studies the children grow in their map skills by reading and analyzing various types of maps. We learn the states and the capitals of the United States region by region as the children also are assigned a state to research. State Fair Day is the culmination of learning about the United States. The children learn about one state and help the school learn about it as well, by decorating a tri-fold board, a diorama, and more! The children enjoy sharing their studies with the school. 

In mathematics the third graders focus on learning their multiplication and division facts. Fractions are also a highlight of 3rd grade math curriculum.

The children enjoy growing in their reading skills through small group rotations and in-class book clubs.  3rd grade is also the year the children begin writing more intensely in cursive. 

OLGC School Summer Reading Lists:

Students who will be in grades 4 through 8 during the 2020-2021 school year have summer reading assignments. Please click here to visit the OLGC Library website for a link to the Rising 4th Grade Summer Reading Lists.

Classroom News

3rd Grade Calendar

July 2020
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Jun 28
Mon, Jun 29
Tue, Jun 30
Wed, Jul 1
Thu, Jul 2
Fri, Jul 3
Sat, Jul 4
Sun, Jul 5
Mon, Jul 6
Tue, Jul 7
Wed, Jul 8
Thu, Jul 9
Fri, Jul 10
Sat, Jul 11
Sun, Jul 12
Mon, Jul 13
Tue, Jul 14
Wed, Jul 15
Thu, Jul 16
Fri, Jul 17
Sat, Jul 18
Sun, Jul 19
Mon, Jul 20
Tue, Jul 21
Wed, Jul 22
Thu, Jul 23
Fri, Jul 24
Sat, Jul 25
Sun, Jul 26
Mon, Jul 27
Tue, Jul 28
Wed, Jul 29
Thu, Jul 30
Fri, Jul 31
Sat, Aug 1

3rd Grade Monthly View

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jun 28
Mon, Jun 29
Tue, Jun 30
Wed, Jul 1
Thu, Jul 2
Fri, Jul 3
Sat, Jul 4
Sun, Jul 5
Mon, Jul 6
Tue, Jul 7
Wed, Jul 8
Thu, Jul 9
Fri, Jul 10
Sat, Jul 11
Sun, Jul 12
Mon, Jul 13
Tue, Jul 14
Wed, Jul 15
Thu, Jul 16
Fri, Jul 17
Sat, Jul 18
Sun, Jul 19
Mon, Jul 20
Tue, Jul 21
Wed, Jul 22
Thu, Jul 23
Fri, Jul 24
Sat, Jul 25
Sun, Jul 26
Mon, Jul 27
Tue, Jul 28
Wed, Jul 29
Thu, Jul 30
Fri, Jul 31
Sat, Aug 1